PDA

View Full Version : AR15-Carbine Vs Mid-Length ~ How to tell Difference?

.40Cal
12-20-2011, 8:03 PM
Hey guys,

So I got my first AR...ever. I had bought the Spikes Tactical rifle online. It was advertised as the Carbine. I talked to the vendor and said I'll like to buy ~ but I want the mid-length, not carbine length. He said they're both same price, just buy the carbine and in the notes state the mid-length.

It's finally here. I can't tell if it's the carbine or mid-length. How do I assure myself of this? The invoice also says ST-carbine... :confused: I just wanna be SURE!

Thanks in advance.

UserM4
12-20-2011, 8:08 PM
Carbine length gas tube is about 7.5" long
Mid length is about 9.5" long

Jyruiz
12-20-2011, 8:08 PM
I am no pro, but the carbine usually has a 7 inch hand guard.

msand951
12-20-2011, 8:09 PM
Post a pic of your rifle . Or just look at the different setups and compare your handguard length. Im assuming you dont have a floating handguard with a low gas block.

Check out uppers from any company bcm , palmetto and check them out.

UserM4
12-20-2011, 8:16 PM
http://tactical-rifle-blog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/gas-systems.jpg
The indicated length are from the receiver/delta ring to the gas hole.

.40Cal
12-20-2011, 8:18 PM
Carbine length gas tube is about 7.5" long
Mid length is about 9.5" long

Like I said, I'm new to this. First AR I've ever handled. Just picked it up from my local FFL dealer about an hour ago. Not sure how to get to the gas tube, don't want to open up different parts and then not knowing how to put it back together. I'll learn how to disassemble/assemble in a few days. But for now, I just wanna make sure it's the mid length.

It's not the free float, or quad rails. It's got the basic plastic handgard, with about 9 holes on top and 9 holes on bottom on the handgard. :rolleyes:

UserM4
12-20-2011, 8:20 PM