PDA

View Full Version : Bringing a handgun to CA

thefinger
03-07-2007, 10:26 PM
I'm turning 21 soon, and I'm considering buying a pistol of my own. I go to college in Missouri, and gun prices here are considerably better than in CA. If I buy a pistol in MO and bring it back to CA do I need to file any paperwork with the DOJ?

tlillard23
03-07-2007, 11:21 PM
Are you a CA or MO resident?

thefinger
03-07-2007, 11:51 PM
Are you a CA or MO resident?

Oh lord, don't get me started on this subject again. I've discussed this on the forum before, and the overwhelming response from knowledgable calgunners has been that I am a legal resident of MO when I reside in MO and I am a legal resident of CA when I reside in CA. I maintain a place of residence in both states.

I will be moving back to CA permanently after one more year of college. So when I buy my handgun I will be a MO resident, and when I move back to CA I will then be considered a CA resident. Its just like I was moving to CA from out of state like anyone else would if they got a new job or something.

Knauga
03-08-2007, 1:27 AM
#25 on DOJ FAQ (http://caag.state.ca.us/firearms/pubfaqs.htm#24)

# I am moving into California and I own several handguns. What are the new-resident registration requirements?

You are considered to be a personal handgun importer as defined by California law. You may bring all of your otherwise California-legal firearms with you, but you must report all of your handguns to the DOJ within 60 days as required utilizing the New Resident Handgun Ownership Report. You are not required to report rifles or shotguns. You may not bring ammunition feeding devices with a capacity greater than ten rounds, machineguns, or assault weapons into California.

(PC sections 12001(n), 12072(f)(2))

On the original site it has a link to the PDF form.

tlillard23
03-08-2007, 1:53 AM
Sorry man, i don't keep tabs on you. Geeeesh, stay in MO. :p
edited...