PDA

View Full Version : Installing a free float and a muzzle brake


1norcalvarmintHunter
03-05-2007, 11:37 PM
Anyone hear know what free float kits do and do not require a seperately purchased barrel nut? I was thinking of a yhm, or just a standard cheap round aluminum tube style.

Also wondering if anyone here has a muzzle break on there varmint or bull contoured barrel? If so which one and do they make them in stainless?

If not i was just gonna have to use my buddies 4-axis milling machine and make one :cool: A little beer and some power tool, i think it would look pretty good and be fun to do!

Thanks in advance.

mike452
03-06-2007, 12:12 AM
Most FF tubes I see do come with barrel nuts. One came with my $35 tube and also the $95 YHM.

It think OPS Inc has one for the bull barrel in SS. It was very close to 1" outer diameter. I would say it is a waste of money because of the weight of the bull barrel. Maybe for a 16" 308.

Technical Ted
03-06-2007, 12:44 AM
Most tubular FF fore ends come with a specific barrel nut.

If you're on a budget between $90 and $150, look into the YHM customizable, the Hogue free float or the JP Enterprises/Viking Tactical.
http://www.yankeehillmachine.com/store/forearms.html
http://www.samson-mfg.com/ar-15_html/product/15003.html
http://www.jprifles.com/1.4.4.php

I have the JP rifle length on my SPR and I just ordered a mid-length to replace the YHM on my 16" WOA SS match barreled upper.

The OPS, Inc. R3E2C 4 port is the brake mike452 is speaking of:
http://www.opsinc.us/brake.php

There's also the PRI/MSTN Quiet Control brake:
http://www.pri-mounts.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=PRI&Product_Code=05-0089&Category_Code=AR15_M16_ACC

I have both, but actually think the PRI/MSTN QC brake is the more effective of the two.

Prc329
03-06-2007, 12:51 AM
Is your barrel threaded?

draconianruler
03-06-2007, 1:26 AM
Is it easy to thread a barrel? Let's say I have access to some plumming equipment, would it be easy to do?

1norcalvarmintHunter
03-06-2007, 7:22 AM
Drac...

You should really have it done by a gunsmith or a maxhinist who is very skilled. Dont try to use any dies to thread your barrel, it just wont work. YOu need a lathe!

mltrading
03-06-2007, 8:00 AM
Yes, you need a lathe to thread the bull barrel.

jester
03-06-2007, 8:35 AM
Randall at AR15BARRELS.com, I can't stress enough how good his work and turn-around time is....

shark92651
03-06-2007, 8:45 AM
I think most of the tubes that are non-railed are the type that require a special barrel nut. If you really do not want to replace the nut you can go with a two-piece bolt on type, but those are normally railed and more expensive.

adamsreeftank
03-06-2007, 8:48 AM
There is a page on AR15.com that has pictures and descriptions of the different float tubes. Poke around a bit and you will find it.

There are lots of options for muzzle brakes. It just depends on the look and function you want.

xenophobe
03-06-2007, 8:53 AM
If you want to install a FFHG that does not require the barrel nut be changed or removed, you'll have to spend a little more, but both the Troy and Sampson rails bolt on... all you would need to do is cut the delta ring and spring.

Be careful with the JP FFHG, they're really nice, but they're very difficult to install. If you're not familiar with installing free float handguards and aren't very mechanically inclined, you will most likely get headaches.

Prc329
03-06-2007, 9:17 AM
All two piece rails I believe you do not have to remove the barrel nut. Well I know YHM and MI rails you do not.

http://www.midwestindustriesinc.com/ar_free_float_forearms.htm

shark92651
03-06-2007, 1:05 PM
All two piece rails I believe you do not have to remove the barrel nut. Well I know YHM and MI rails you do not.

http://www.midwestindustriesinc.com/ar_free_float_forearms.htm

Unfortunately, the YHM two-piece forearms are not free-float - they just replace the standard forearms but require the delta ring and end-cap. I have installed a YHM light-weight free float on one of my uppers and a MI two-peice free float on another. It definitely was easier to install the MI free-float. If you have the tools (vice, action block, punches, YHM wrench or armorer's wrench) then installing the barrel-nut floaters is not too difficult.

Prc329
03-06-2007, 1:32 PM
I have a YHM free floats on all three rifles. They can be a pain if you do not own the wrench. I do so it was no biggy. You can use a armorer's wrench but you really need to use the YHM one. It makes things so much easier.