PDA

View Full Version : Stag AR FTF?!?

battlehatch
03-04-2007, 6:50 PM
My mom and her bf were out shooting his Stag AR just outside of Vegas. They called because they were having problems with it. He cleaned it and greased it with CLP last night. Today, he took it out, it shot one mag fine then the next mag, he started having problems. He would charge it, then fire one round. The action would return to battery, but without stripping a round. He would then charge it again and fire one round, again it wouldn't feed. He tried three different mags and no change. I couldn't really be of much help as I am no AR expert and I am really better at figuring things out when they are right in front of me to see. Just wondering if anyone can offer any insight. It's a brand spankin new Stag M4gery. Thx.

nosewitdot
03-04-2007, 7:39 PM
perhaps it just needs to be broken in

Prc329
03-04-2007, 7:43 PM
What ammo were they using? I had a similar issue but it was caused by my buffer and tube. Not sure exactly what was wrong but after I switched it the gun performed flawlessly. I also had the issue with another AR and the ammo. I was using wolf steel case and wolf m193 and it did not like it at all. The wolf would either FTF or double feed. Federal and wolf gold would work great.

mxpatriot51
03-04-2007, 7:45 PM
Are the magazines brand new also? He's not using goofy 40 round magazines, right?

It really sounds like a magazine issue to me.

If it isn't that, the rifle could be short stroking. This means the bolt travels back far enough to eject the empty, but not far enough to allow the new round to pop up from the magazine and get slammed into the chamber by the bolt. Basically, the bolt may not be coming back far enough. This can be due to too light of loads or too stiff springs.

If he's using factory ammo, I'd bet his springs to be broken in. But, I have yet to hear of an AR that needed significant break in to function properly.

Hope this helps.

SnWnMe
03-04-2007, 7:47 PM