PDA

View Full Version : Family transfer laws

nrifenbark
03-03-2007, 7:36 AM
Wondering whether it is legal to give a firearm to an immediate family member and what paperwork may be required. Family member lives in Arizona and legally buys a handgun there. Handgun is of a type that is legal to own in CA. Family member in AZ gives or sells the handgun to immediate family member who lives in CA. What's the law on this? Thanks.

QuarterBoreGunner
03-03-2007, 8:28 AM
Standard disclaimers apply (I am not a lawyer...blah blah blah) but interfamily transfers go something like this: up or down the family ladder is fine, laterally is a no no.
Translated - from parent to child or vise verse and you're good to go. Uncle to niece or nephew or cousins to cousin, nope.

If it's a child/parent transfer, there is no paperwork required. You could do a Voluntary Registration form (http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/volreg.pdf) and send it in the the DOJ with a check for $14 if you like but it's not necessary.

And if I'm wrong I'm sure I'll be trampled by a flood of responses here in a few moments.

maxicon
03-03-2007, 8:38 AM
There are 2 sets of laws that need to be followed in this case - federal and state.

The state law says transfers between parents, grandparents, and children can be done with no FFL intervention, assuming the person receiving the gun can legally own it and the gun is legal to own in California. Long guns have no registration requirement, handguns have to be registered by mail for $19.

Federal law says any transfer between residents of different states has to go through an FFL in the receiving state. This means the gun would have to be shipped to a California FFL, DROS'd, and go through the 10 day wait. There's an exemption from The Approved List for family transfers, I believe, and you'd have to find a receiving FFL who understood that.

nrifenbark
03-03-2007, 11:04 AM