View Full Version : Slide Serrations

03-02-2007, 5:15 PM
How do you feel about the serrations on the front of the slide on many new
semi-automatic pistols? Are they of any real use, or is just a current fad?
I personnaly don't like them, mostly for cosmetic reasons. I have been shooting 1911 type pistols for nearly 50 years and have never had a problem racking the slide with just the rear ones.:rolleyes:

03-02-2007, 5:21 PM
I think they are popular with some shooters because it makes it a little easier to check the chamber by slightly pulling the front of the slide back. I used to dislike front serrations, preferring the slab sided look of GI 1911's, but after a while they "disappear" and you hardly even notice them.

03-02-2007, 5:54 PM
I don't like them on 1911's but the new hk looked pretty sharp with them.

03-02-2007, 6:10 PM
They are the spawn of Satan. Especially on a 1911.

03-02-2007, 6:52 PM
I don't care for them and they serve no real purpose for me. If i wanna do a "press check" to see if chamber is loaded i just prefer to use overhand grip with left hand on rear serrations. They are a Fad and a Trend because they look tacticool.

03-02-2007, 7:19 PM
I don't really like them either, but there are so few 1911's certified in California without them. I'm currently looking for a stainless Springfield mil-spec. I love the look of it without them.

03-02-2007, 7:20 PM
I have no problem with them...

While it may not be useful at the range, Blood is very slippery.. When your hands and gun are covered in it they may be just what you need at that time!

03-02-2007, 7:35 PM
Why are those serrations there when you have that great rear sight handle to grab for racking:)

03-02-2007, 7:45 PM
They are the spawn of Satan. Especially on a 1911.