PDA

View Full Version : HK91A2 in CA

ladiver
12-05-2011, 9:33 AM
I was recently speaking to someone about buying an AR15. He mentioned that he has a HK91A2, with high cap mags, that is registered as an AW. He has never even taken it out of the case since the early 90's.

He asked me what if he could take it to a range and shoot it. My guess is no, but I am very new to the AR scene. Please, Calgunners, give me some information that I can pass on to him.

Thanks,

Jeff

desert_dick
12-05-2011, 9:44 AM
He can shoot it.
Some ranges will want to see his copy of the AW registration confirmation he got in the mail when he registered it.
-Rich

Ed_Hazard
12-05-2011, 9:49 AM
As long as it's a RAW he's good to go. I've taken my RAW's to Angeles Shooting Range a few times and never been hassled, Beta mags and all.

Your not required to carry your letter from Bill, but a photocopy in the case is a prudent move. He might want to brush up on the restrictions imposed on one while transporting RAW's to be sure he stays legal.

SgtJT27
12-05-2011, 10:08 AM
Of course he can shoot it, as long as its registered on his name and make sure to bring a copy of his RAW letter from DOJ.

Omega13device
12-05-2011, 10:21 AM
As others have said there are no issues shooting a RAW at a range as long as it's otherwise legally configured.

I wouldn't worry about getting hassled. Six years ago, maybe. Today, doubtful. There are so many off-list HK 91 clones out there these days that no one will give it a second look. I've had my PTR91 out many times and even other shooters don't seem very curious about it. That said, if he feels like bringing a copy of his registration letter as a security blanket it certainly won't hurt anything, but it's not required by law.

ladiver
12-05-2011, 10:38 AM
Thanks guys. Does he need a BB or other tool, or are detachable mags OK if it is registered?

Followup question, can he let others fire it while he is there?

desert_dick
12-05-2011, 10:55 AM