PDA

View Full Version : AK 47 maker selection needed

tatt00edangel
12-04-2011, 8:48 AM
I'm new to the ak world but I'd like to get my feet wet.

Arsenal, WASR, Century Arms, Saiga, etc. what brands should I stay away from, what.brands are more reliable. A local shop custom makes their own shop version, is that a good choice? What are typical prices?

CSACANNONEER
12-04-2011, 8:53 AM
I'd suggest surfing this forum a little. This discussion has been covered many many times. BTW, Arsenals are just Saiga and WASRs are Century imports.

RustyMacHine
12-04-2011, 9:30 AM
I'd suggest surfing this forum a little. This discussion has been covered many many times. BTW, Arsenals are just Saiga and WASRs are Century imports.

I'm surprised you didn't say stay away from I.O. CASARs...

Well, watch out for CASARs. :D Some get lucky, most don't.

Unless it's for a $100.;)

NorCalK9.com
12-04-2011, 9:37 AM
WASR's are gonna be the best for your money!
But best of all would be to go into the gunsmithing section find a build party near you, buy a parts kit and build your own beast the way you want it.

RustyMacHine
12-04-2011, 9:40 AM
WASR's are gonna be the best for your money!
But best of all would be to go into the gunsmithing section find a build party near you, buy a parts kit and build your own beast the way you want it.

What did you think about that Arsenal SGL 23-61 in San Jose for $450 two days ago?

Whoever bought it scored big time.

Mamluke
12-04-2011, 9:57 AM
Inter Arms Company AKs.
Waffen Werks AKs.

What look are you after in your AK? the modern or the classic?

What caliber are you after for your AK? 7.62 or 5.45?

In a nutshell:

7.62x39 carries tremendous energy upon impacting the target because of its mass. Up to 300 yards, in any situation. Fairly accurate.