PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a Varmint Rig

AfricanHunter
02-24-2007, 12:42 AM
I want to put together a CA legal AR type varmint rig. This will be my first AR build. A few beginner questions...

Who makes the highest quality CA legal lower for my purposes?

Is there a better caliber then 223 for all around varmint shooting (Ground Squirrels to Coyotes and everything in between) that is compatible with the AR platform.

I have been looking at the RRA Varmint A4 (http://www.rockriverarms.com/item-detail.cfm?ID=AR1550X&storeid=1&image=va407.gif). Is this a good one? What other uppers should I look at? Is a complete upper the way to go? Does anyone make a complete quality varmint (CA legal) rifle?

How does it work after I get the lower? Can I just send it to RRA or whoever to complete or is there an experienced local smith that could set me up and make everything CA legal?

As you can see I am a total beginner when it comes to AR rifles and all the legal crap we have to deal with in CA so any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Josh

Tzvia
02-24-2007, 7:14 AM
I built a varminter around the RRA 24" barrel. It's a very good barrel, with my handloads cloverleafs at 100 yds is the norm. And I would say that the 223 is a good all around round for your stated purpose. If you don't have the tools to do an upper, get a complete upper and I see RRA offers bead blasted- a good idea since my barrel is quite shiny.

I built the upper myself because I wanted a different handguard so I went with a CMT upper and the JP tube with a full length top rail. That way I could mount the optic forward if needed. If I were to do it over, I probably would have gone with a 20" barrel. With a PRS stock and optic, it is a heavy sucker.