PDA

View Full Version : What do I have and how can I tell?

CVAME
02-19-2007, 7:28 AM
Ok, I know these questions have been asked many times but here it goes. Recently I purchased "Traded" a DPMS ultra light AR 15 for what I was told and thought was a Bushmaster. After doing a little research, I don't think I have what I traded for. The barrel is 16" and has DSC 5.56 NATO 1-9 stamped on the top. I cant find any markings on the upper anywhere or on the bolt. It has a collapsible stock w/4 positions. I already know from my reading that I probably got beat on the lower because it is a Hesse Arms HAR-15A2 and haven't found anything good about Hesse. How can I identify what I have and where to look for markings and such.:confused: By the way, my upper is a fixed handle with adjustable iron sights. I have put a Pic rail on the handle just to accommodate a standard 3-9x50 scope for plinking and varminting. I dont know what else to say about it to get more info on it since I am new to the AR scene.

scootergmc
02-19-2007, 7:55 AM
I think you have at least a DSC= Double Star Corporation upper. http://www.star15.com/

Bushmaster has "B MP" on the barrels.

CVAME
02-19-2007, 2:18 PM
I think your right Scooter so far as the barrel is concerned but the barrel and upper don't match so far as color. The barrel is the green milspec color but the upper is more black as well as the bolt. I was going to post some pics but my camera isn't acting right for some reason. Oh yeah, and my muzzle break doesn't look like the one in the artical you linked. Mine has the five slotted muzzle break.

CVAME
02-19-2007, 4:28 PM