PDA

View Full Version : Why is a pistol grip evil?

thomye
02-17-2007, 9:02 PM
I was thinking about this question. obviously, cuz some politician deamed it evil and it's part of SB23. But the more i thought of it, the less it made sence how this part made the list. Gernade launcher i can see. The retractible stock makes some tiny bit of sence if it allows one to conceal the rifle better, but a pistol grip?

wasn't the pistol grip put on the original Mseries cuz it helped handle the gun better in automatic fire. in a semi auto configuration, is it really that much more tactical that someone would considered it evil.

Now that i think about it, i think the retractible stock thing is idiotic too. if the rifle with its stock at its shortest point is greater than 30", then what's the issue? more and more, these laws seem stupider and stupider.

Sorry, i'm totally new to rifles (guns for that matter) and none of these things are making any sence using logic.

EricCartmann
02-17-2007, 9:28 PM
Because it is hard to define what is a "assault rifle."

Probably a bunch of Californians got together and looked for similarites between AR's, AK's, HK's, Galils, and FAL's. They proably saw all had the following:

- pistol grip
- flash suppressor
- detachable magazine that holds 20 rounds or more
- bayonet lug

So now all guns with these features are considered 'assualt rifles' and evil. A WASR, Cali-SA-58, M1A don't have these features so they are not considered evil, even thought they are just as capable as the "assault rifles"

I guess these same legislators probably think that if you take off your "crip" tattoo makes you no longer a "crip".. just like if you take off your pistol grip you no longer have an assault rifle. :p

JHC
02-17-2007, 9:30 PM
Come on guys, everyone knows that having a pistolgrip allows you to spray fire without having to ever reload.

jumbopanda
02-17-2007, 9:56 PM
They believe that it allows you to control the gun better when spraying randomly. :rolleyes: