PDA

View Full Version : Question in hunting with an AR pistol

thukidad
10-26-2011, 11:01 AM
A questions for AR hunters out there:

Iíve searched numerous forums, but Iíve yet to encounter this question. Iím considering
obtaining an AR pistol in 6.8SPC platform for close range (under 100 yards) hunting. The
reason being that most deers Iíve encounter in the woods are under 100 yards. I see no point in
carry around a large caliber bolt action rifle if I donít plan on taking on a shot over 100 yards.
The area in which I normally hunt is really dense with lots of wood and bushes. Lugging around
a long rifle is overly encumber some trying to navigate through these bushes. I started playing
with the idea of an AR pistol mainly due to weight and ease of maneuverability. Does anyone use
an AR pistol to hunt deer with?

Nothing Iíve researched stated that I cannot hunt with this type of firearm. California 2011-2012
Mammal Hunting Regulation Booklet states pursuant to Section 353 (c), the method for taking
big game allows use of a pistol and revolvers using centerfire cartridges with softnose or
expading projectiles. I believe the AR pistol falls under this category, please correct me if Iím
wrong.

Iíve contacted my local DFGís office, whom Iíve been corresponding with, stated in email that if
it is a pistol and purchased in the State of California , it should be no problem. Unfortunately, he
also indicated that the warden have not had any kind of training in regards to this type of weapon
system. This poses another questions, in the event Iím stopped by the game warden, how can I
inform or educate him and/or her of the legality of this type of firearm without me being detained
or worst yet, my firearm confiscated. I believe given his response, the firearm may be
misconstrued by the game warden as an illegal short barrel rifle.

I do plan on having in my possession as at all time while actively hunting: My hunting license, a