PDA

View Full Version : Sending a lower to a dealer...

trfcrugby
02-12-2007, 4:46 PM
My local dealer sells Stag lowers for $260 each stripped.

Obviously, they are a lot cheaper online.

Would it be rude to ask him to transfer some that I order online, even though he sells them locally? Sorry if it seems like a dumb question, but I am new to this, and I'll be damned if I didn't finish my first build and want to start planning another one already. With the price of a stripped lower about $110, there is a huge price difference that can be spent on other things, I just want to make sure I'm not breaking some OLL unwritten rule or something like that.

bwiese
02-12-2007, 4:49 PM
No, but I'm guessing he'll...

(1) either say "No", or:

(2) mark up the price of whatever you're getting for him to make the profit he needs to keep his store open, which would roughly amount to the total price he charges for a lower anyway.

If you don't like his prices, there's other places.

trfcrugby
02-12-2007, 5:14 PM
How does the FFL transfer process work exactly?

The lowers I was looking at were on Gunbroker for $105. From what I read, there was a $40 transfer fee and $20 DROS.

Anything else?

radd
02-12-2007, 5:28 PM
Dealer can mark whatever price they want on the tag.

If they are professional enough, then they will take your transfer no questions asked. Ofcourse your job will be not to blab about how much better deal you gotten from other dealer at the store.

or If you feel bad about this situation, then ask your retailer not send the invoice with the lowers.

BTW: lanworldinc.com (http://www.lanworldinc.com/Lowers.htm) got Stag Lowers for 95.50
:D

grammaton76
02-12-2007, 5:31 PM
I'd look at another place. Either that, or just order a CMMG or something and ask him to transfer it, saying "Eh, I prefer the rollmark on this one".