PDA

View Full Version : Quick ear muff question

Javi
10-13-2011, 11:44 AM
So I own these slim, passive muffs by Howard Leight(NRR 23):

http://www.howardleight.com/images/media/0000/0249/leightning_L0F_main.jpg?1317399602

I bought them for my first rifle since I wanted the muffs to interfere less. I've been shooting indoors a lot lately and the revolvers, .45's and shotguns have been too loud with these on. Plus, I think my glasses are breaking the seal so I can hear more than I should. Should I invest in Howard's "Impact-Sport" model?
http://www.howardleight.com/images/media/0000/0253/impact_sport_main.jpg?1317399602
I've never used an electronic set before but I noticed it's NRR rating is one less than what I have now..I'm taking ear protection seriously so should I go electronic or will just doubling up work well and save me $?

duster1974
10-13-2011, 11:56 AM
I just got a pair of ProEars NRR 33 - Highest I could find. I've only shot outdoors with them so far, and noise was fine. 10 guns firing at same time within 12' of me.

I'll probably still double up (foam inserts+ ProEars) at an indoor range though. The proears were $30 on amazon.

They have the electronic version for $300 - Similar NRR (double check) but electronic.

The problem with most inexpensive electronics muffs are they are fine for outdoors, or maybe not, given your experience. The expensive ones combine both High NRR and electronics.

I was only shopping on NRR solely - and Howard Leights didnt touch the 30-'s range, at least from the research I did.

If i had $300 laying around, I would have purchased the ProEars Gold model.

duster1974
10-13-2011, 12:19 PM
Only addition I would make for the hot-climate shooter: http://www.letargets.com/estylez_item.aspx?item=E09-COV

My mom and wife sew - Maybe they can make me some?

Let me know if any of you guys know of ear muff sweat covers.

BamBam-31
10-13-2011, 12:26 PM