PDA

View Full Version : Ar15 Match Upper

ChangeMyNameToStupid
10-12-2011, 11:42 PM
Hi Guys, I'm looking to start building an ar15 space gun or match rifle 20-24", hopefully to start shooting competition. As of now, I am trying to find a decent upper for a low price ($300-400) new or used but I do now know what kind of upper it should be. I know the upper should have a 1-8 or 1-7 twist but other than that I do not know what I need. I have been looking at many uppers but they are EXPENSIVE! I'm a poor college student so shooting competition nonetheless shooting every week may not be a smart financial move but I love it.
Here is one upper I have been looking at. http://www.whiteoakarmament.com/xcart/product.php?productid=17553
The idea of having a side charging upper on my rifle is very appealing to me but the only thing that gets me is the price. I was wondering if this is a good upper or if there were cheaper uppers non-side charging good for a beginning competition shooter. Please make comments, suggestions or offer advice, everything is welcome.

Thank You

donking
10-12-2011, 11:53 PM
Yes, good. WOA rocks :punk:

KillerRabbit
10-13-2011, 2:29 AM
Every person on our rifle team uses a White Oak, they are actually very reasonably priced for what you get. What kind of competition do you want to participate in? If you want to shoot High Power you would be better off to go with a White Oak Service Rifle upper (since it comes with sights you won't need to buy a scope and that will help your college student budget). What part of the state do you live in?
Dirk

ChangeMyNameToStupid
10-13-2011, 7:54 AM
I'm in So-Cal, La county and want to start doing high power competition. It seems that WOA is pretty reputable then. Thank you guys, I'm going to start pulling funds together!

dlouie87
10-13-2011, 8:27 AM
WOA barrels and uppers are gtg! side charging are a worthless "cometic" feature.

KillerRabbit
10-13-2011, 9:04 AM