PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of building my own AR15. BUT I'm a NOOB!!

ELIXIR
10-12-2011, 9:01 PM
I've had the urge to finally be an AR owner.(I own several handguns,I'm VERY familiar with that). I don't really know much about them, but simple CA legal things like bullet button, etc. To cut it short you can say I'm "ignorant" towards building my own AR.(WOULD IT BE BETTER TO BUILD MY OWN OR BUY COMPLETE?) I have friends that know about them and that can assemble an AR. And yes, I have been doing some research regarding this. Anyways I would like to know what are GOOD QUALITY parts i.e. lowers,uppers, hand rails, pistol grips, etc. AND where would it be a good place to shop and get GREAT deals on gear.My budget would be around $700-900. I found an AR that a fellow calgunner is selling, I really like the style. Here's a pic.

I like how some parts are a Tan color. And that type of style hand rail with the grip on it.

Also, is it a hassle to own an AR? Meaning, transporting it, owning etc. I know Cops can harass someone just for owning (while transporting or shooting) an AR, the last thing I want is to get in trouble by the law, so this has always KEPT me from wanting an AR. ( I know how to follow ALL rules. I stay legit)

Thanks for your input Calgunners!

FourLoko
10-12-2011, 9:05 PM
ask your friends

pacifico23
10-12-2011, 9:07 PM
Honestly right now, it seems manufacturers are really tryin g to compete with building it yourself. Smith and Wessons AR's can be had for mid 600's. If I were you I would get that Palmetto State Armory AR with Aimpoint for 999.00.
That's like the best deal ever. Those PSA uppers are very good too. I don't get it, they must get one great deal from FN for their barrels. They are very good uppers for the price.

You can always build one, and build it right within the price of that. But I think the days of building it yourself for cheaper are fading away.

Noah3683
10-12-2011, 9:10 PM