PDA

View Full Version : 14.5 barrel pinned to 16" - 15" rail?


one
10-12-2011, 12:59 PM
I have a 14.5 barrel that I am going to be pinning a 1.5" dynacomp on. I currently have a Daniel Defense 12" rail on it. I want to put a 15" rail. So only 1 inch of the comp sticks out. Will this look weird? Does anyone have any pictures of one?

sirsloth
10-12-2011, 1:05 PM
How are you going to pin the Dynacomp on with a 15" rail?

Nathan Krynn
10-12-2011, 1:13 PM
Pin barrel, weld, then put on rail.

MrPlink
10-12-2011, 1:59 PM
I think that kinda set up looks ok with larger devices, like a firepig.
But hey, its your gun, run it the way you want!

Noah3683
10-12-2011, 2:18 PM
I think that kinda set up looks ok with larger devices, like a firepig.
But hey, its your gun, run it the way you want!

Agree, I would personally go with a 10"-12" but it's your rig not mine

tomd1584
10-12-2011, 4:37 PM
12" rails I get- 15" starts getting to a little silly.

theres a pictures thread over on Arfcom with people who did what you're describing. Looks silly, IMO.

tomd1584
10-12-2011, 4:40 PM
Here is a 15" rail on a 14.5" barrel, looks dumb:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b179/unstabl/33aa1759.jpg


Here are 15" rails on 16" barrels. Not as dumb, but pretty close:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y20/CMLenhardt73/Guns/100_3084-1-1.jpg

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i20/dnbsoulr/IMG_1931web.jpg

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/6052/ebrp.jpg

evidens83
10-12-2011, 5:53 PM
Go for it :shuriken:

jokat989
10-12-2011, 6:01 PM
the worst thing that can happen is that you hate it and send it to me for free because its so hideous

vintagearms
10-12-2011, 6:12 PM
Do you need to mount that much stuff on the rail, or do you like your hand to reach out that far when aiming? If neither of those is the case, then why add the extra weight?

G38xOC
10-12-2011, 6:36 PM
i think op is just going for looks for now

looks lot cooler than my moe carbine for sure

okglockman
10-12-2011, 6:42 PM
Take pictures of individual components and crop them together on the computer to see how you like it... Doesn't sound like my cup of tea, but if you like it.... that's all that matters..

Cokebottle
10-12-2011, 6:48 PM
Do you need to mount that much stuff on the rail, or do you like your hand to reach out that far when aiming? If neither of those is the case, then why add the extra weight?
This.

Unless you have arms like King Kong, there's only one reason for the tube to go beyond the gas block, and that is for a longer sight radius.

If you're going to load it up with optics or even a red dot, that excuse goes out the window and you are now :ninja:

Droppin Deuces
10-12-2011, 7:01 PM
http://www.v6z24.com/jbodyforum/files/ricer_civic_1_118.jpg

Do it.

Cokebottle
10-12-2011, 7:04 PM
Is that one of those flying cars mom told me I'd have?

Droppin Deuces
10-12-2011, 7:05 PM
No, silly. That's an AR with a 15" rail.

Noah3683
10-12-2011, 7:15 PM
:rofl2: