PDA

View Full Version : AR upper and lower question

HBchevelle68
10-09-2011, 9:12 PM
Im new to the whole AR wold and have been doing research on the whole area of shooting. Looking at a .223 or 5.56 either or doesnt matter to me.

My real question is am I able to essential buy any complete lower and complete upper and they will fit togethr and work properly?

Thats the vibe i get from all the reading and just wanted to see if I am right.

Thanks All!

R8RRunner
10-09-2011, 9:26 PM
Some prefer matched (same brand) upper and lower receivers but you will find many people have Stag upper assemblies on JD lower receivers (for example).

Just-in
10-09-2011, 9:27 PM
You are correct.
Some will fit tighter together than others but this doesn't affect reliability and if it bothers you use an accuwedge.
Shoot if they aren't cut at the same time on the same machine I bet an upper and lower from the same MFG will have a bit of slop. Considering many mfg's source there parts this is true. ok I'll STFU now...

Buy a stripped lower. it's fun to assemble and you can put exactly what you want on it.

ok Im really done now.

TheHammerOfTruth
10-09-2011, 9:48 PM
You are correct.
Some will fit tighter together than others but this doesn't affect reliability and if it bothers you use an accuwedge.
Shoot if they aren't cut at the same time on the same machine I bet an upper and lower from the same MFG will have a bit of slop. Considering many mfg's source there parts this is true.

This.
Have fun!

donking
10-09-2011, 10:02 PM
My real question is am I able to essential buy any complete lower and complete upper and they will fit togethr and work properly?

Why not just buy a whole rifle? :rolleyes:

OHW
10-10-2011, 6:58 AM
Why not buy whole? Plum Crazy doesnt make uppers.

DK9mm
10-10-2011, 7:15 PM
Everyone has their own taste as to what upper and lower should go together...

I say, get what you can afford... stock up on ammo and shoot the heck out of the thing...