PDA

View Full Version : Unedcated in gun laws = possible felon!

DirtFarmer916
10-06-2011, 10:26 AM
Uneducated=felon??

Maybe this will help someone, luckily I found out what I did wrong before it was too late!

A little background for ya. Recently I purchased an AR15 at a local gun store. Well during my 10 day wait period I went to the store almost every other day. It was my first big purchase and I was super excited to get my new gun home. I kept buying little things like a gun case, ammo, etc.

Once I purchased the gun I created an account here and started reading up on the gun laws. I don’t have a criminal record so making sure I keep it that way is pretty important to me. However I know I’m not an expert in gun laws but I knew some of the basic stuff. Like 10 round mags and having a bullet button is required in CA.

The dirty!!
So I was in the shop a few days before picking up my new rifle talking with another local firearm enthusiast. He was in the middle of making a purchase. The girl helping us was going over the features of the gun (an AR15 similar to mine), including reviewing the bullet button. When the customer heard this he was a little shocked, “a what?” he said. So she explained what and why it was on the CA compliant gun. After seeing his reaction she prompted to show him a “tool” he could use to help release the mags. It was small, had a magnet and would stay attached to your gun. It was just a little thing. But due to the magnet it worked like a regular mag release would…

I chimed in saying isn’t it illegal in CA?? She said no, she then proceeded to tell me that it’s not permanently attached and is considered a tool. She said the one thing I need to be careful with is transporting a rifle with this attached is against the law but as long as I didn’t transport it with the tool attached I was alright. So I bought one, going home thinking I had a neat little tool to use when I got my rifle.