PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Weapon Mounted Flashlights

Magdalena
10-04-2011, 10:56 AM
Hello All,
I'm new to the whole forum thing (so bear with me), but have a couple things I want to throw out there: I've got high powered weapon mounted flashlights that are wireless, with the remote controls integrated directly into the rifle grips of AR/M16, as well as grip integrated remote controls for AK's (getting rid of the 'mousetail' all together). I've sent out a couple grip rc's and lights to interested folks who are building their AR's and upgrading their AK 47's the response has been incredibly positive. I want to know what some of you think. I've included a couple pictures and quick examples of my work. All opinions, questions and interest is welcomed.
Notes on the pics: I've included a couple examples of the flashlight body, and coinciding grip rc's. Also, I've included a pic of a new AK 47 mounting bracket (AK 47 Upgrade) that we've created, that accommodates both picatinny/weaver mounted accessories on the AK 47. (and the pic files are giant-to see detail)Let me know what you think!
M

tomd1584
10-04-2011, 11:34 AM
how reliable have these been proven to be? Are they being field tested by anyone? I think it's an interesting idea, but until it can be proven to be just as reliable as a SF weapon light & tape switch, then it shouldn't belong on a HD/patrol weapon.

Perhaps you can get in contact with someone like MilitaryMoron or the likes and have it field tested?

thumbs up though on the idea!

Merc1138
10-04-2011, 11:53 AM
It sounds like a great idea, but wireless means that the transmitter needs a battery(or some sort of power). The flashlight now needs some kind of receiver, and uses a small amount of power to keep that receiver active. What about the possibility of interference? How well can this transmitter and receiver setup handle recoil?