PDA

View Full Version : My newfound opinion on the legality of the Judge pistol

Calm Down
10-03-2011, 5:46 PM
I was going to resurrecthttp://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=99718&highlight=judge but I wanted to get a different reaction by posting my own title.

Background: I’ve been a deputy sheriff for more than eleven years. I’ve spent two years working in a jail, four years working as a bailiff and nearly six on patrol. I am also a Field Training Officer and have assisted in the training of eighteen deputy sheriff’s. I have testified in court regarding the identification of assault weapons.

Last year my sergeant asked me how he could purchase a Judge. I ultimately told him about he’d need to have the firearm made into an AOW. He is not familiar with the NFA process and once I explained it; he rejected the idea.

Since then, I have spent some time reading state and federal laws as well as various opinions of others regarding this topic. Some of the arguments revolve around the barrel being rifled versus smooth; others have argued it’s merely cosmetic and if the “.410” marking was deleted, the firearm would be legal. In my opinion, the most valid argument in support of the Judge being legal revolves around the definition of “shotgun shell”. As it has already been stated, the CCI shot shells would in essence turn and handgun into a SBS. What is the difference between a .410 shot shell with #9 shot and a .45lc shot shell with #9 shot? Is it the brass/aluminum casing versus the plastic hull?

http://www.armscor.thegunsource.com/DisplayPic.aspx?PIC=491952
http://www.ammunitiontogo.com/images_thumbs/rioc3665.jpg

PC 12020

(c) (1) As used in this section, a "short-barreled shotgun" means any of the following:

(A) A firearm which is designed or redesigned to fire a fixed shotgun shell and having a barrel or barrels of less than 18 inches in length.