PDA

View Full Version : Ar-15 Pistol

AR-MAN88
10-02-2011, 12:49 PM
hey guys, lately i've been thinking about owning a pistol but i love my AR, i've been looking through "Rock River Arms" catalog and came across some 7 and 10.5 inch A2 and A4 pistol complete upper half. Im real interested in these products and was wondering if i can use my lower receiver and if its even legal in california knowing the SBR regulations?

FeuerFrei
10-02-2011, 1:00 PM
You cannot use your rifle lower legally.
Build from an 80% lower.
Buy complete single shot pistol from Cali FFL.
PPT from a legal AR pistol owner or LEO that has one to sell.
Search here... lots of legal how to stuff.

AR-MAN88
10-02-2011, 1:18 PM
will do, thank you for the info.

s0calflip
10-02-2011, 1:26 PM
I was thinkin about building an AR15 pistol from the parts i found on Rock River Arms. It would be legal if you bought the lower receiver, right? i'm new to ar15 builds and the California laws. if bought the ar15 pistol lower receiver and a upper 10.5 in upper its legal in California, right?

Infantry H2
10-02-2011, 1:44 PM
Ensure u have the pistol lower before you buy the shorty upper. Especially if you have a DROSd rifle lower in your possession.

s0calflip
10-02-2011, 1:52 PM
DROSd? sorry like i said i'm kinda new to all this, but asking questions to get familiar with everything...

Shellshocker66
10-02-2011, 2:10 PM
DROSd? sorry like i said i'm kinda new to all this, but asking questions to get familiar with everything...

Dealers Record of Sale. The form you fill out when you purchase a handgun or long gun from a FFL.

Edit: The above poster mentioned that if you have purchased a lower that has been DROS'd as a long gun (rifle) then possession of a upper less then 16 inches total length would constitute a short barrel rifle, which is a no no. That is why folks purchase 80% lowers and do the milling, purchase one already made by an FFL, or purchased from a private party.

s0calflip
10-03-2011, 12:02 PM