PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about the Springfield MC Operator

santacruzstefan
09-30-2011, 11:08 AM
I shot one last weekend, and loved it. I have never shot as good with any pistol, and it was the first 1911 I fired so perhaps thats it. Anyway, now I want one, am trying to buy one, and want some of your impressions on this model. How does it compare to other Springfield 1911s, around the same price? Is it worse than, say, a TRP? What about other companies offerings around the same price range? I'm new to 1911s, so I just want something I can shoot a lot and have fun with, not something that I'll need to dick around with constantly, you know?

Brandon04GT
09-30-2011, 11:12 AM
I believe it's basically a Springfield NM Loaded with a railed frame and SA's Armorykote two-tone finish. Plus the Pachmayr grips

Dark Mod
09-30-2011, 11:14 AM
Its sweet except the full rail looks really terrible.

echang86
09-30-2011, 11:21 AM
I believe it's basically a Springfield NM Loaded with a railed frame and SA's Armorykote two-tone finish. Plus the Pachmayr grips

This, and it has night sights.

I own one and I have no problems with it. I wouldn't say it's "worse" than a TRP. But a TRP offers a lot more than a MC Operator.

What are you looking for on your 1911? Rails, night sights, front strap checkering, etc.?

As for other companies with compareable models, Sig offers the Sig Scorpion 1911 at a great price point ~$900. It comes with a flat trigger, front strap checkering, a magwell, night sights, and a rail. It's off roster so you'll have to SSE it. If I didn't have my MC Operator, I would have picked the Scorpion over it.

voiceoftheright
09-30-2011, 1:34 PM
Its sweet except the full rail looks really terrible.