PDA

View Full Version : Help in choosing AR15

Raptor3000
09-24-2011, 10:36 PM
Hi Guys,

I am new to this, have only owned 9mm semi automatic pistol and a 22LR rifle and may be in a month or two planning to get a AR15 rifle.

Can you guys help me with which brand/make/model is reliable/recommended.h

How's the recoil with 223 round?

thanks

bob7122
09-24-2011, 10:39 PM
checkout rifle gear's rifle for around 600 bucks it is a S&W pretty nice entry level rifle imo.

http://www.riflegear.com/p-1148-sw-model-mp15-sport-rifle-california.aspx

recoil is low. if you shoot .308, 54r, or x39 you'll know that the .223 is light and easy on the shoulder.

ZX-10R
09-24-2011, 10:41 PM
Love my Daniel Defense M4. Definitely a shooter when I bench for groups.

baih777
09-25-2011, 4:09 AM
whats your budget? the choices are endless.

CK_32
09-25-2011, 6:30 AM
Google please.

You'll find 1 million threads on this...

SDM44
09-25-2011, 6:37 AM
checkout rifle gear's rifle for around 600 bucks it is a S&W pretty nice entry level rifle imo.

http://www.riflegear.com/p-1148-sw-model-mp15-sport-rifle-california.aspx.

The only thing with the S&W is that it doesn't come with a forward assist, a dust cover, and the trigger guard is molded to the lower.... if you wanted to change it out (at least it's the extended style like Magpul). However, you can always upgrade the upper later on.

If those things don't bother you, then it's a great rifle to get and shoot.

dieselpower
09-25-2011, 8:27 AM
google, there are millions of differing views on this.

What you asked us was...

I have rode a bicycle and motorcycle all my life. I am about to start driving a car. Whats the best car to buy?

Raptor3000
09-25-2011, 9:40 AM
I am looking for something around $800.

dieselpower
09-25-2011, 11:42 AM
I am looking for something around $800.

then its either S&W M&P15 Sport, a Delton inc, Model 1 Sales or a Stag Kit build from AR15sales.com + a stripped lower. Anything else is going to hit the $900+ level.