View Full Version : Double Star Problem

09-22-2011, 4:12 PM
I have an issue with a Double Star Combat Pistol. I have to give a bit of background on the weapon so some light can be shed on the legal quagmire I find myself in. I purchased the pistol for 1.3k from Gun Dealer Online’s Show room in Lancaster, PA. I was a PA resident at the time, I have since moved to California. I reviewed the laws out here carefully and read that if you own a handgun that is not on the CA DOJ approved list that if you own it when you move into the state that handgun is exempt from that law. Once here I registered the handgun (with my others) and have the registration paperwork from the CA DOJ in my safe. Once I moved I finally got to shoot it and it has since jammed twice and I had to finally take it to a gunsmith (I am a 1911 noob). Thru Calguns I had heard that US Firearms in Sunnyvale was where to go for 1911’s. So Eric and the awesome staff at USF found several issues with the pistol. Eric even spoke with the manufacturer and what had to be done to fix it. Basically I want to send it back to Double Star and have them fix it, should have been right in the first place but here is where the legal issue comes into play. I can legally ship it to Double Star, I can legally ship it to Gun Dealer Online and they can ship it to Double Star but neither Double Star nor Gun Dealer Online can ship it back to me, because it is not on the CA DOJ approved list. Ken at Gun Dealer Online was helpful and was familiar with DOJ laws but the only solution he could suggest was to get a letter from DOJ saying the handgun is legal and registered to me and then it can be shipped. Eric from USF says that as a repair gun the handgun list does not apply in this situation, I can’t seem to find anything to support or disprove this statement. I am thinking to have a gunsmith here fix it and have Double Star pay for it but having them agree to do so would be difficult.