PDA

View Full Version : New to AK style rifles - just a few questions

eclipse
09-22-2011, 2:11 PM
I have recently gotten the urge for an AK pattern rifle. I am completely new to this type of rifle as the only rifles I own now are AR15 style rifles.

I do not want to spend much money and have read good reviews about the Saiga 7.62x39 rifles. It also sounds like it could be fun to do the AK conversion on it. My question is about pricing on these rifles. What do the Saiga's usually sell for new/used? I have tried searching old sales on calguns but most users delete the sale price after a completed sale (which I don't understand why). Rifle Gear has a Saiga rifle for $409, is this a good price? Any other AK style rifles that would be recommended in the $400-$500 price range?

Thanks for the help!

djleisure
09-22-2011, 2:18 PM
I have recently gotten the urge for an AK pattern rifle. I am completely new to this type of rifle as the only rifles I own now are AR15 style rifles.

I do not want to spend much money and have read good reviews about the Saiga 7.62x39 rifles. It also sounds like it could be fun to do the AK conversion on it. My question is about pricing on these rifles. What do the Saiga's usually sell for new/used? I have tried searching old sales on calguns but most users delete the sale price after a completed sale (which I don't understand why). Rifle Gear has a Saiga rifle for $409, is this a good price? Any other AK style rifles that would be recommended in the $400-$500 price range?

Thanks for the help!
Yeah, I don't understand that either and I hate when people do it. $409 is very good price for a 7.62x39 Saiga if you can pick it up locally. You can also keep your eyes on the "firearms for sale" section here and get already converted Saiga's or Romy G's for $550-$750. It depends on what your preference is. Right out of the box, the standard Saiga is s LOT of fun to shoot and if you get bored with it later, you can easily convert it (fun project!)