PDA

View Full Version : Help a noob choose a rifle

Crank1000
09-22-2011, 4:20 AM
Ok, so I'm pretty new to SA rifles, and I'm having trouble putting together a list of rifles that meet my criteria, so I'm hoping the encyclepedic mind of CG can help me out here. I'd also like your opinion of the rifle (why I should or shouldn't buy it) if you don't mind. Here's the criteria:

1. Shoots cheap ammo (.223, 9mm etc)
2. Be around $1000 at the top end (not a strict limit)
3. Will accept easily found parts (ie. magpul stock, AR magazines/clips...doesn't have to be those parts specifically, just examples)
4. Prefer not to have a BB, but not a requirement.
5. I don't want to build anything. I just want to write a check.

From my research, it seems like the Mini-14 should be at the top of the list, but I'm just curious what else is out there since a lot of folks really seem to dislike them. Also, please let me know if I'm not asking the right questions too. Thanks in advance.

23 Blast
09-22-2011, 4:47 AM
If you want something that's easily customizable, one of the less expensive AR variants would fit the bill - I'm thinking either a Del-Ton, or a M&P Sport (IIRC they run in the area of $700-ish. However, you'll be stuck with the BB unless you go to one of those awkward-looking featureless stocks. People who use them say they work great, they just look funny.