PDA

View Full Version : stock install


cxr
09-21-2011, 1:45 PM
what are other tools can i use to install a stock without the wrench?

or do i just bite the bullet and order a stock wrench

joelogic
09-21-2011, 1:49 PM
Channel Locks.

djleisure
09-21-2011, 1:49 PM
You don't absolutely need a wrench to install the stock. I'm assuming you are talking about tightening the castle nut? I used a pair of vice grips wrapped in electricians tape to tighten my first few castle nuts. It works just fine - especially if you stake the nut afterwards.

GMG
09-21-2011, 1:50 PM
$6.99 and free shipping !

http://www.ar15outfitters.com/AR15-Tools_c_170.html

crob
09-21-2011, 2:54 PM
done it with a hammer and a brass punch before....
Where are you located? I'm sure there is a nearby calgunner willing to let you borrow the wrench

dieselpower
09-21-2011, 5:50 PM
hammer + straight slot screwdriver

slick_711
09-21-2011, 6:01 PM
You can do it with channel locks or a hammer & punch/screwdriver. I've used both methods in the past. However, there is a reason there is a "right too for the job" for each job. A proper stock wrench is like $6, some stocks come with one in the package, or an AR armorer's tool has one built in. If this will be the only stock you ever install, a hammer and punch is a quick fix, then stake the nut.

MrExel17
09-21-2011, 7:36 PM
Old Rag + Channel Locks = :D

But if you want it done right buy that actual tool.