PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a handgun instructor/coach in Socal

deviljon
09-19-2011, 11:05 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to the shooting scene and recently bought an xd9. I've spent some time at the indoor range for the last few weeks and realize that it's really just been a waste of ammo :facepalm:. So now I figure is the best time to find a coach or instructor before any bad habits are developed.

My local range has a certified pistol instructor but it's always best to shop around and get feedback from others who personally have experience with this. I can watch how-to videos all day but that can only help so much.

Can anyone recommend a good coach or instructor? I'm all over the place so anywhere from the Irvine area to Rowland Heights or even more west towards San Gabriel would be fine. Thanks!

bsg
09-19-2011, 11:27 PM
i don't believe he's in our area... but check with 9mmepiphany; a member here on the forum, i believe he's up north somewhere. he may or may not come down this way periodically for teaching. i'd guess he could give you some referrals if he can't help you directly.

HCz
09-19-2011, 11:39 PM
I'm guessing you are looking for basic pistol marksmanship instructor? There should be a few in OC area. One person I can recommend is TJ Johnston. He runs All safe defense(allsafedefense.com).

deviljon
09-19-2011, 11:46 PM
Yes, I know how to safely operate a handgun but will most likely take this course with my girlfriend (trying to get her to like guns) so basics + the techniques, control, breathing, etc. to be consistent and accurate. It will definitely take practice but to be guided in the right direction is what I am really looking for. Thanks for that link, I will look into it. Do you have personal experience with TJ Johnston?

HCz
09-19-2011, 11:59 PM
Yes. I took a few of his class earlier when I got in to guns, and he is also the NRA counselor(instructor's instructor). He is a great person too.

bsg
09-20-2011, 12:20 AM