PDA

View Full Version : Appleseed .22lr rifle

point1
09-03-2011, 7:36 PM
Hello all,

I'm still a noob so pardon me for asking what maybe a stupid or uninformed questions.

I am looking for a good (hopefully not too expensive) .22lr rifle because I want to attend an upcoming Appleseed (one in Corona)

I am looking at a Marlin 795 because of the cost (on sale right now at Turners). I am probably going to add a scope (Barska Plinker-22 Scope 3-9 x 32) along with that.

The other option and it is more expensive is a Savage 93FVSS-XP. Can you guys give me a recommendation, pros or cons with the ones I listed. Feel free to recommend others as well (I shot a 10/22 and really liked it but from what I read the Marlin is just as good)

The Savage is a long shot because it costs quite a bit more (though it comes with optics, not sure if it is any good though)

I'm looking for a good rifle to help me become a better marksman without breaking the bank (cost of ammo, etc...)

thanks in advance!

cbaer5
09-03-2011, 7:41 PM
have you considered a Ruger 10 22? I just bought one for the same reasons and they are on sale too for $210 at turners.

Eljay
09-03-2011, 7:53 PM
The Marlin 795 and the Ruger 10/22 seem to be the two most popular. Isn't the Savage a bolt action? That's definitely not going to make things easy on the timed stuff, although if that's what you want to shoot, go for it.

agroman2001
09-03-2011, 7:58 PM
I have a 795 that I love. I got it from Big 5 for $109 after mail in rebate. I have not had a single problem with it and I've been shooting that Remington gold that everyone seems to hate. Had I known, at the time of purchase, that I could wait and get a 10/22 on sale for around $200. I would have waited. I don't regret the purchase at all, I just think the ruger is a better, nicer looking gun. And there's a lot more parts and accessories for the ruger.

ERdept
09-03-2011, 8:01 PM
Get the 10/22, LOTS of aftermarket.