View Full Version : Would this setup hold zero?

08-25-2011, 10:17 AM
I think it would, but figure its good to get confirmation...

Say you have 2 uppers, a 16" with iron sights / carry handle, and a 20" with rings & scope. But only 1 AR lower. Once you zero the optics on the 20", if you pull it off to shoot the 16", when you put the 20" back on, it should still be zeroed, right? Sorry if its a dumb question, I'm new to the whole AR platform.



08-25-2011, 10:23 AM
If all the sights and optics stay on the same upper all the time nothing needs to be changed. You are free to move any upper to the lower without affecting zero. This is why the AR system is so nice, you can have as many uppers as you want and use only one lower.

08-25-2011, 10:30 AM
And don't fall into the trap of those that say you need to have some "matched" upper and lower. That's crap. The sighting system on an AR is attached to the barrel, so as long as that relationship doesn't change (as ejhc11 said), you're good.


08-25-2011, 10:31 AM
Perfect, thanks guys!