PDA

View Full Version : new AR also failed to chamber a round

kugmo
08-15-2011, 5:32 PM
hi all,

i finally got my AR last friday, its a VA-AR build (valkyrie arms in milpitas), went to Livermore gun club and tried it out, i used a Winchester .223 fmj and another brand sold at the range, total about 80 rds fired

each time the round failed to chamber, first shot is ok, then when i pull the trigger for the second shot, i just hear a click, i looked and i see the next round on the mag has not come up , at first i thought it was the new mag ( pmag) so i tried a another mag from a buddy that we know is working, still same issue ---- so i ended up shooting the AR like a bolt action rifle :)

i called Carl on VA and he said the gun needs to be "break-in" and that i should try more brands of .223 ammo, he told me to bring it back anytime if its still exhibiting the same behavior after another maybe 200 + rounds

anyone from the forum can shed light to this issue, im new to this so any input is appreciated

thanks

ERdept
08-15-2011, 5:34 PM
Can you just chamber and extract dummy rounds whilst watching tv. A few mags worth, then shoot it.

Remember, NO LIVE rounds.

cvx5832
08-15-2011, 5:40 PM
Your AR is shortstroking.

Does the bolt lock back on the last round?

kugmo
08-15-2011, 5:41 PM
i dont have any dummy rounds right now

- when i was at the range i am able to extract the rounds then shoot again , it all i did all the time i was there to shoot the AR , i there such a thing a "breaking in " a gun ?

thanks

pdq_wizzard
08-15-2011, 5:46 PM
Lube it, I was having the same problem last week, I lubed the bolt (a lot) and then no more problems

---
- Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AeroEngi
08-15-2011, 5:55 PM