PDA

View Full Version : Realistic distance....

ap3572001
07-31-2011, 11:54 AM
I have been an LE firearms instructor for a while now.
Have many questions from new CCW holders. One question I am always asked is about a typical distance in self defense or an OFFduty encounter.

Another question is about the value of POINT shooting (w/o use of sights)

Would like some feedback . THANK YOU .

llamatrnr
07-31-2011, 12:53 PM
Not LEO, but I think the concensus is 3 yds, 3 seconds, 3 rounds = typical gunfight.

Definitely a "point-shoot" scenario

baz152
07-31-2011, 1:10 PM
3 YARDS! Wow you are going to let someone get pretty close to you. 3 SECONDS! To draw a firearm form concealment and put accurate rounds on target in 3 seconds is a lot faster than most people will do, that is faster than most Police Officers can do and they do not have to draw from concealment. 3 ROUNDS! I hope not, you have to evaluate after each round fired; a CCW holder is a lot more accountable than a LEO is and the rule for LEO's is they have to account for each and every shot fired.

Most every HG shooting Police or CCW holder is done with point shooting. People may think that they are picking up the sights but when the fear hits you, point shooting is the result. Look at the stats on shootings with rounds fired vs. rounds hit. Most shootings take place within 15 yards, with picking up the sights anybody with five minutes of firearms training will make hits at that range without someone shooting back. Point shooting works and is used a lot in shootings but every round that misses is a round that just killed an innocent person.

AP, what agency do you work for?

Not LEO, but I think the concensus is 3 yds, 3 seconds, 3 rounds = typical gunfight.

Definitely a "point-shoot" scenario

r3dn3ck
07-31-2011, 1:12 PM