PDA

View Full Version : Legal question: Demil Uzi machine gun receiver legal in CA?

prebans
07-19-2011, 5:20 PM
I have a demilled full auto Uzi receiver that was saw-cut back when saw-cutting was legal. A CA resident wants to purchase the demilled receiver.

Any legal issues here or am I good to go?

(I'll sell anything into CA that I can, but I want to be sure I'm not putting the buyer or me in legal peril.)

Thanks,

Mike

G-forceJunkie
07-19-2011, 6:11 PM
I'm not a lawyer, but if it was demilled per the ATF, its been nothing but scrap metal since then.

11C ABN
07-19-2011, 7:51 PM
Parts kit are legal in CA, as long as it way was properly de-milled per ATF standards imposed of the de-milling process for the year the weapon was decommissioned / de-milled.

Be aware that the magazine will need to be stripped down and presented as a magazine re-build kit. Do not ship any magazine the holds over 10 rounds assembled.

Tell your buyer he is lucky to find a "Saw" cut parts kit compared to today's ATF standards of torch cutting.

CAL.BAR
07-19-2011, 8:01 PM
NO! Once a MG, always a MG. Parts (w/o full auto sear) may be ok, but if you put it back together, you are manufacuring a MG.

ke6guj
07-19-2011, 8:10 PM
NO! Once a MG, always a MG. Parts (w/o full auto sear) may be ok, but if you put it back together, you are manufacuring a MG.

you know not what you speak. the receiver has been properly demilled and is no longer an MG. It isn't even a firearm. When a new receiver is welded up using the front trunnion section, as long as the semi-auto blocking bar is welded in BEFORE the receiver is complete, it is a semi-auto receiver, not an MG receiver, even if some of the parts used to complete the receiver were once an MG.

edit: oh, and the OP is an FFL/SOT so he knows the federal rules about the demilled receiver, he is just trying to confirm that there is no CA laws against it.

CHS
07-19-2011, 8:11 PM

^^^^ Don't listen to this guy.

Connor P Price
07-19-2011, 8:21 PM