PDA

View Full Version : Importing MY handguns. Suggestions?

Corporal
07-18-2011, 2:50 PM
First Post on these forums. I am a Marine Veteran and California resident since my end of active service in Jan 2010; I was stationed here starting in 2006. I've recently decided that I want to bring two of my handguns out here from my father's home in Georgia. I've heard that I have pass some sort of state mandated pistol qual, have him bring them to an FFL in GA, have them sent to an FFL here in CAL, where I can take delivery after I pay two middle-men. It seems ridiculous that I have to go through this process with property that is already my own. I'm not actually buying anything.

I've also heard tell of it being possible to just bring them into the state in a checked airline bag or by car and simply voluntarily register them with the 19 dollar fee and avoid the headache. I read that the state is just happy that you registered the firearms.

According to my inquiries with DOJ, I am not eligible for the "New Resident" registration because, obviously, I am not a new resident.

I am considering bringing in a Ruger 22-45 pistol for my girlfriend to cut her teeth on and my trusty Remington-Rand 1911 from WWII.

What are you thoughts? Does anyone have a parallel experience?

Briancnelson
07-18-2011, 3:05 PM
You do not have to do all of that if they are your pistols.

You can bring them yourself, or ship them to yourself.

The requirement is that you register it within 60 days of bringing the handgun into the state, not within 60 days of you moving here. There is no requirement you register a handgun you own out of state, so you are in compliance, and will be in compliance so long as you register it within 60 days.

You got FUD from the DOJ, basically :P

Check the very nice wikis at the top of the page for details.

jl123
07-18-2011, 3:07 PM