PDA

View Full Version : Deputy Probation Officers

its mcgavin son
07-15-2011, 11:30 AM
From my understanding, I know DPOs are not law enforcement officers; however, I would like to obtain serious input/information from current or former DPOs.

I'm a military veteran and I just graduated from a CSU with a degree in criminal justice. I have applied to numerous Southern California police and sheriff's departments in the past 2 months, but my heart is leaning towards a probation career.

Does anyone know if LA County's hiring freeze will be lifted within the next (2) years?

biochembruin
07-15-2011, 1:40 PM
I have it on good authority LA County probation is preparing to lay off approx 145 DPOs. I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news. It doesn't look like they're going to lift the hiring freeze anytime soon.

Tacit Blue
07-15-2011, 1:44 PM
Gotta love this economy!!!! i would say try Riverside but they're in bad shape too. I just checked San Diego's probation Dept, doesn't look like they're hiring either.. Sorry bud..

Tacit Blue
07-15-2011, 1:46 PM
http://agency.governmentjobs.com/riverside/default.cfm?action=viewJob&jobID=342380&hit_count=yes&headerFooter=1&promo=0&transfer=0&WDDXJobSearchParams=%3CwddxPacket%20version%3D%271 .0%27%3E%3Cheader%2F%3E%3Cdata%3E%3Cstruct%3E%3Cva r%20name%3D%27FIND_KEYWORD%27%3E%3Cstring%3E%3C%2F string%3E%3C%2Fvar%3E%3Cvar%20name%3D%27CATEGORYID %27%3E%3Cstring%3E102%3C%2Fstring%3E%3C%2Fvar%3E%3 Cvar%20name%3D%27TRANSFER%27%3E%3Cstring%3E0%3C%2F string%3E%3C%2Fvar%3E%3Cvar%20name%3D%27PROMOTIONA LJOBS%27%3E%3Cstring%3E0%3C%2Fstring%3E%3C%2Fvar%3 E%3C%2Fstruct%3E%3C%2Fdata%3E%3C%2FwddxPacket%3E

Good news go apply its at Riverside !

its mcgavin son
07-15-2011, 2:04 PM
I have it on good authority LA County probation is preparing to lay off approx 145 DPOs. I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news. It doesn't look like they're going to lift the hiring freeze anytime soon.