PDA

View Full Version : what am I doing wrong - reloading .223

swift
01-02-2007, 9:21 PM
I've been reloading pistol and rifle ammunition for a few years, but, for some reason, .223 remington is giving me problems. I hope someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong. I have 1X fired Federal .223 brass and 0.224 bullets (Sierra MK, 69gr or Nosler Ballistic tip, 55 gr) Using a Rockchucker single stage press and the RCBS X-dies for .223

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=194698

I just saw that there is another set of X-dies for .223 small base:
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=807582

After cleaning the cases and depriming/expanding the neck, I attempt to seat a bullet. Either I get a very loose bullet or I get a nice tight crimp on the bullet and a deformed shoulder such that the angle does not match the commercial .223 and I would not feel safe testing it.

When I put a Federal .223 round in the press and make the adjustments to make the cartridge snug, the bullet I load into an empty brass case is barely held in place. If I adjust the die just a quarter turn to get more of a crimp, the shoulder is not correct. I think I am using the correct dies (what is 'small base'?)

Has anyone else had this problem? How did you fix it?

ocabj
01-02-2007, 10:11 PM
You probably have the seater die screwed down too far. What is happening is the seater die itself is too far down and it is crushing the neck thus crushing the shoulder.

Readjust your seater die.

1. Get a fully sized case and insert into press shellholder.

2. Without die in press, bring ram to top position.

3. Without seater stem in seater die, screw down seater die until you feel it make contact with the neck. Turn back half a turn. Lock die in position using set screw.

4. Now you can insert your seater stem. Adjust seater stem to adjust bullet seating depth as needed.