PDA

View Full Version : Probation Officers - Questions about a Graduate Degree

JJKESSEL
07-09-2011, 9:57 PM
I am finishing up my BS in CJ and I know there are very few jobs out there right now so I'm going to continue on with my education. I'm wondering what, in your opinions are the most beneficial graduate degrees. I must say I am leaning toward MSW (Social Work) because of the diversity of opportunities that it could create but I am set on becoming a Probation Officer.

Thanks in advance.

Jeff

Falconis
07-09-2011, 10:17 PM
public admin is a good one if you intend on climbing that ladder

El Gato
07-09-2011, 10:39 PM
I have a masters of science in counseling and am an LMFT....

other than being able to use my on -duty work toward hours years ago...it has really been no benefit....

well...
it's a benefit when dealing with dangerous people... like at gun-point ... or the baton out kinda thing...
as I can usually out think the probationer...and end up with less really bad fights than some folks....

not that a big fight isn't a bit of fun once in a while...:43:
as long as we win of course.....

but the degree has allowed me to work a private practice to raise extra money to feed my family when they were younger...

fmxmyway
07-10-2011, 2:09 AM

I would agree. I have a friend who is a DEA agent and he has his masters in Public Administration as well.

Watchur6
07-10-2011, 2:41 AM
This.
Good degree to have if you plan on moving up to top brass positions.
Are you planning on only going for field probation officer or are you willing to start out in the juvenile jails.
The reason I ask is because ive seen a lot of highly qualified people choose not to promote to field ops. due to there being more money in institutions. Just something to think about when you apply. I know as for us our field guys don't work holidays or get much o.t. like we do in the institutions.

Roddd
07-10-2011, 3:28 AM
I think El Gato learned how to use a lotta periods in his Master's program...