PDA

View Full Version : Federal Law Enforcement Question

devildog999
07-08-2011, 1:35 AM
Quick question for you that know more about the law than I do. I am a federal cop on Edwards AFB. Now, as opposed to POST certified cops like CHP, LAPD, LASD, etc, we do not have law enforcement rights while we are not on duty (which we would had the dumb *** government put "arresting capabilities" as opposed to "apprehension abilities" while not on duty). So my question is, does that matter when it comes to getting a department letter head to avoid having to make the fun stuff legal with bullet buttons etc. I would rather ask you people that know the law a lot better before I were to ask my Chief. Thanks in advance, greatly appreciated.

hoffmang
07-08-2011, 1:45 AM
Some reading for you:

http://ag.ca.gov/opinions/pdfs/97-505.pdf

http://ag.ca.gov/opinions/pdfs/01-1005.pdf

I haven't looked closely enough recently enough to have an opinion about your status at this time...

-Gene

devildog999
07-08-2011, 2:07 AM
Thank you for that, though it is informative, it does not mention anything about Edwards AFB (which if it matters is slightly in LA County and mostly in Kern County)

Anchors
07-08-2011, 3:25 AM
Are you a civilian officer at the base or still enlisted?
Do your duties involve the general public or only military personnel?
Basically I'm asking what your title and job are.

Just curious.

devildog999
07-08-2011, 4:37 AM
I am civilian. I do deal with civilians due to the fact that most of Edwards is civilians. My title is "guard" though we are cops. Specifically while on duty we are LE

Are you a civilian officer at the base or still enlisted?
Do your duties involve the general public or only military personnel?
Basically I'm asking what your title and job are.

Just curious.

kw91364
07-08-2011, 7:06 AM
deleted

dustoff31
07-08-2011, 9:30 AM