PDA

View Full Version : diplomatic privileges

munkeeboi
07-05-2011, 7:10 PM
not sure if this is the right forum, but can someone in the know help me on finding out if a diplomat ( from saudi arabia) is exempt from any or all CA firearms laws (list, ccw, mag lock, 10 day wait, etc.)? or are they bound to the same laws as ca civilians?

Alaric
07-05-2011, 8:34 PM
Is this diplomat part of an officially recognized mission to the United States? If so, then most likely, yes, they would be immune to prosecution under our state's laws. They could still be expelled, but it would likely be a fairly grievous offense they partook in to warrant that.

If they aren't part of a mission here, say they are part of a UN mission, or a mission to another country but they just happen to be visiting here, immunity would be very limited or even non-existent.

I'm not a lawyer, btw, so take this as my opinion, nothing more.

ETA: See this chart for more details, as apparently the position of the diplomat has some bearing... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diplomatic_immunity#Diplomatic_immunity_in_the_Uni ted_States
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diplomatic_immunity#Diplomatic_immunity_in_the_Uni ted_States)

dustoff31
07-06-2011, 6:19 AM
or are they bound to the same laws as ca civilians?

Yes, they are. Diplomatic immunity refers to immunity from prosecution in certain cases, not that they are exempt from the laws.

Quser.619
07-06-2011, 9:32 AM
Does he have a diplomatic passport? If so, I'd say have them contact the State Dept to verify

Gryff
07-06-2011, 10:44 AM
Yes, they are. Diplomatic immunity refers to immunity from prosecution in certain cases, not that they are exempt from the laws.