PDA

View Full Version : Game load for skeet

Kyasharin
06-30-2011, 5:01 PM
Hey all,
I just picked up a Remington 870 shotgun with a 18" barrel so I'm new to the shotgun world. I went to Turner's today to pick up some ammo for skeet. The salesperson suggested this for target load to me:
http://www.federalpremium.com/m/product_details.aspx?f=5&t=3&u=9&id=159
Will this load suffice for skeet? Thanks again.

06-30-2011, 5:19 PM
Save your self some money, go to WalMart and get Fed. or Win Target Loads.

Aprox $22 for a 4 box brick (100 Rnds)

Kyasharin
06-30-2011, 5:26 PM
Thanks friend, I'll check them out.

Looks like my cousin's M2 is going to gorge on some free shells at Angeles...

BLC
06-30-2011, 7:35 PM

:thumbsup:

coyotebait
07-01-2011, 5:47 AM

This.....but a lot of places won't let you shoot skeet with an 18 inch barrel.

Kyasharin
07-01-2011, 6:45 AM
Thanks for the recommendation. Will a 28 inch vented rib barrel do? Should I get a choke for skeet as well?

sargenv
07-01-2011, 6:49 AM
That's pretty much the same load and about the same price as the 100 pack boxes.. I usually get them by the 10 box case for around $55/case. The targets aren't moving that fast and are not that far away. The thought for skeet is wide open chokes and a dense pattern of tiny pellets.

3 1/4 - 1 will work just fine.. which is what the person behind the counter suggested. Most game loads are 6, 7.5, or 8's.

What you generally want for skeet is 1 1/8 oz of 9's.. (load is usually 2 3/4 or 3 dram, 1 1/8 oz of shot, size # 8 or 9 sized shot). The Dram Equivalent corresponds to velocity. It is an old method of comparing how much black powder it took to get to a certain velocity with a given load of shot. I think I have an essay about it somewhere around here.. 2 3/4 dram with 1 1/8 oz of shot corresponds to the shot charge moving at a nominal 1150 fps, the 3 dram load is nominally 1200 fps.. That is generally out of a 28" barrel. You may lose some velocity out of your shorter 18" gun.