PDA

View Full Version : M1a M14 Scope mount advice needed....


beauregard
06-29-2011, 11:16 AM
I want to put a scope on my M1a and after looking at the "Generation 3" mount from Springfield I have doubts about its integrity, and my ability to mount it correctly- so I'm going to the pros for advice.

What's important to me:

1. Ease of installation
2. Fit-and-finish (this is a nice rifle, I want something that matches its quality)
2. and of course price- I'd like to not pay more than $125

Thanks in advance. Personal experience trumps opinion, but I'm open to both.

Sumo99
06-29-2011, 11:25 AM
For ease of installation, nothing beats Bassett Machine. That's what I use. Go over to TFL and read all the positive reviews. It's not the prettiest mount, but it works.

The mount that probably meets all 3 of your requirements best would be Sadlak's aluminum mount. I've never tried one, but everything Sadlak makes is top notch.

Other mounts to consider: Smith Enterprises, GDI, ARMS

jcaoloveshine
06-29-2011, 11:27 AM
SEI or Sadlak. Either one is top notch

Kali-Jax
06-29-2011, 12:04 PM
What M1A model do you have and do you know the production year?

Lethal_addict
06-29-2011, 12:13 PM
Look at the A.R.M.S. mount...

deez
06-29-2011, 12:30 PM
Based on your specs, looks like Bassett Machine fits your needs.

SEI, Sadlak, and GDI are also quality options to consider, but at twice the price.

brando
06-29-2011, 2:11 PM
This has always been a weak point for the platform and caused headaches for an entire generation (or two). Sadly, what I found out was that this really is a clear example of "you get what you pay for." If your mount costs less than $300, chances are it'll give you trouble. I went through 2 different mounts, increasing in price until settling on the SEI mount. Unfortunately by that time I had decided that a variable power receiver-mounted scope was less than idea for me.

With M14 scope mounts - buy once, cry once.

M1A Rifleman
06-29-2011, 2:14 PM
The 3rd Gen is in use my the Military, so it does work. Other mounts may be better.

I use a SA 1st Gen - the single thumb screw. Have never had a problem in over 20 years of use as it accurate, precise enough, and it has not shot loose.

It goes on and off and is within 1/2", every time. I doubt you will find anything much better.

X-NewYawker
06-29-2011, 3:08 PM
Springfield FOURTH gen --

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p54/Fasanoland/Rifles/P1010194.jpg

very solid -- WAY better than any other SA mount --

But my first choice is a SADLAK

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p54/Fasanoland/JAE%20rifles/_MG_7358.jpg

H2O MAN
06-29-2011, 3:17 PM
I use mount #2006 from Smith Enterprise, Inc. (SEI).

http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac160/The_H2O_MAN/MK14EBR-RI/IMG_4150.jpg

glockman19
06-29-2011, 3:26 PM
The 3rd Gen is in use my the Military, so it does work. Other mounts may be better.

I use a SA 1st Gen - the single thumb screw. Have never had a problem in over 20 years of use as it accurate, precise enough, and it has not shot loose.

It goes on and off and is within 1/2", every time. I doubt you will find anything much better.

+1

I have a 3rd Gen mount on my M1A and it has not moved. I believe if properly installed you will have no problems.

bcrich
06-29-2011, 4:16 PM
I've got a A.R.M.S mount on my SuperMatch and has been solid so far.

Sailormilan2
06-29-2011, 4:23 PM
Go with a Bassett. Bassett claims a return to zero within 1/2" at 100 yds if done with his torque wrench.

dfletcher
06-29-2011, 4:43 PM
I used the Sadlak on my Loaded and have an ARMS 18 on my Scout. They both are a PITA to install, I think, but each works fine. The Sadlak sits higher and will take bigger belled scopes. The ARMS sits low and I have a 1 t0 4X straight tube on it, there's about .10" clearance from the rear sight hood.

The ARMS looks like it's part of the receiver and matches thegun very well. Both were equally solid. Once I put them on I never took them off.

thai562
06-30-2011, 1:46 PM
Brando is correct, the M1a always have a mount problem, and the solution seem to be more Money.
$125 is low for M1A mount
You can fine a used SEI, Sadlak steel, ARMS for $150. Other USGI mounts work also.
SAI receiver have minor dimension problem, some mount may need a little fitting.

H2O MAN
06-30-2011, 2:01 PM
I use mount #2006 from Smith Enterprise, Inc. (SEI).




I use the SEI mount on my M14 EBR-RINM-SEI CH SASS, but my favorite over the receiver mount is the **M14 DCSB from SAGE.

I have one mounted on my MK14 Mod 1 pictured at the top of this picture.
**SAGE EBR stock required.

http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac160/The_H2O_MAN/MK14EBR-RI/IMG_5287.jpg

strongpoint
06-30-2011, 2:43 PM
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=443575

beauregard
06-30-2011, 2:52 PM
I use the SEI mount on my M14 EBR-RINM-SEI CH SASS, but my favorite over the receiver mount is the **M14 DCSB from SAGE.

I have one mounted on my MK14 Mod 1 pictured at the top of this picture.
**SAGE EBR stock required.

What scope do you have mounted there?

H2O MAN
06-30-2011, 3:50 PM
What scope do you have mounted there?


Leupold Mark 4 1.5-5x20mm MR/T M2 Illuminated SPR with a 168gr dial (http://www.leupold.com/tactical/products/scopes/mark-4-mrt-riflescopes/mark-4-1-5-5x20mm-mrt-m2-illum-reticle/)

beauregard
06-30-2011, 4:07 PM
Leupold Mark 4 1.5-5x20mm MR/T M2 Illuminated SPR with a 168gr dial (http://www.leupold.com/tactical/products/scopes/mark-4-mrt-riflescopes/mark-4-1-5-5x20mm-mrt-m2-illum-reticle/)

Wow.

Seriously rad glass.

30Cal
06-30-2011, 4:55 PM
+1

I have a 3rd Gen mount on my M1A and it has not moved. I believe if properly installed you will have no problems.

Mine was nothing but problems. Nothing short of welding or epoxy would have held it in place for more than 3 shots.

kendog4570
06-30-2011, 6:03 PM
Learn how to use the iron sight. If you have to use a scope, switch rifles.
Haven't seen a mount yet that stays put.