PDA

View Full Version : Shilen and Noveske for an SPR (5.56/223)

shiv
06-27-2011, 5:47 PM
The pieces of my precision upper are coming together and it's time to buy a barrel. The rifle will be my own rendition of an SPR or MK12. The two barrels that I have narrowed it down to are;
1. Noveske 18.5" SPR for ~$465
2. Rainier Ultramatch 18" SPR for $365
http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=815

THIS IS NOT A VS. THREAD!!!
I have no experience with either, but would love to hear from people who do.
The price difference is no object to me because after considering the included gas block on the Noveske the difference is more like $50.

I'm leaning toward the Rainier/Shilen because I really want to try the ratchet rifling and I like the 1-8 twist and the rifle length gas.

Every forum I have read, as well as reps from both companies, have reported 1/2MOA capabilities from either barrel with factory ammo. This would be exactly what I'm looking for! Barrel longevity is less of a factor, considering I will probably never be able to afford enough ammo to shoot out a barrel.

Has your Noveske or RA shot 1/2MOA? And what are your experiences with either style rifling or gas length?

IPSICK
06-27-2011, 8:48 PM
Not on your list but my 18" JP barrel shoots sub-1/2 MOA.

http://i51.tinypic.com/kaqfm.jpg

shiv
06-27-2011, 9:58 PM
WOW! That is really nice! What contour is that 18"?

fcr
06-27-2011, 10:29 PM
I have the Noveske and it is very accurate also, I have no pics, but I have had similar results as above. You will be happy with either.

IPSICK
06-27-2011, 11:05 PM
WOW! That is really nice! What contour is that 18"?

It's a proprietary contour by JP. Here are the specs:

Chamber: .223
Length: 18"
Gas system: rifle-length
Twist: 1:8 button rifled
Contour: .650 under hand guard/.875 in front of gas block
Diameter at gas block: .936
Muzzle threads: 1/2-28tpi
Crown: 11 degree
Material: 416 Stainless
Weight: 35oz

BigYellowApe
06-27-2011, 11:07 PM