View Full Version : cleaning a rifle. help anyone!

06-26-2011, 5:22 PM
hey gun lovers!

i was hoping i could get some advice on cleaning a rifle barrel. sorry im a newbie at this.

i have a k98 mauser and from the naked eye, the rifling looks strong and the crown is in great shape! but from what i read all over on the net, i get so much conflicting advice on how to PROPERLY clean a barrel. im concerned about ruining the accuracy of the rifle from just cleaning. yes, i know the rifle is old and may not be accurate because of the neglect/abuse over the years, however i am going to soon inherit many other bolt action rifles from my father which i would like to properly maintain until i pass them down to my child.

a lot of people claim that copper or lead residue will build up on the rod over time and can leave some traces of it when cleaning, thus ruining the barrel. the rod hiting against the barrel wall caused by quick strokes can scratch up the rifling. at the same time, a lot of people claim they never had problems using a rod w/ a brass brush because the metal used to clean is weaker than steel. good groups have been achieved using this old method, and at the same time a lot others would say that it ruined their barrels. so what the heck?? so much conflicting opinions and each side are so convinced their methods are best!

oh yeah, let's not forget about the bore snake, which some claim is the best and simple way. their was also couple of guys on other forums that dont use brushes at all and just run patches in thier rifles all day until clean.....there also seems to be many who just use nylon brushes on their rods. so, what am i to conclude?...... i am very very very confused....