PDA

View Full Version : New Draco AK has rust


Wallabing
06-25-2011, 4:45 PM
I brought home my Draco AK pistol, and I discovered it has rust forming in and around the front trunnion, and around the little crevices around the chamber area, plus the locking lugs on the front trunion.

I removed the lower handguard and looked into the botton of the front trunnion aswell. It has rust seeping through the riveted areas.

How can I go about removing the rust from these hard to reach places?

PolishMike
06-25-2011, 4:54 PM
Its probably left over cosmoline.They have that new. Looks a lot like rust. Take a toothbrush and some solvent to it.

Wallabing
06-25-2011, 4:56 PM
It really does looks like rust. It looks dry and has a rough texture.

RobGR
06-25-2011, 4:57 PM
Its probably left over cosmoline.They have that new. Looks a lot like rust. Take a toothbrush and some solvent to it.

Yep, the man is right. Mine had the same thing. Just give it a cleaning with some CLP break free or Rem Oil and wipe it down.

2600fromAtari
06-25-2011, 5:49 PM
http://www.amazon.com/Birchwood-Casey%C2%AE-Blue-Rust-Remover/dp/B000LC9VKW

Works very well for me. You'll probably find it at your local gun shop or Big 5...

RustyMacHine
06-25-2011, 5:52 PM
I hosed mine down, sprayed windex and rinsed with hot water out of the box.

bob7122
06-25-2011, 5:53 PM
im pretty sure it'll be cosmo i thought a mosin had rust once and i just got a toothbrush and brushed it well and it was just really really dry cosmo.