PDA

View Full Version : Best ways to improve accuracy

louderthangod
06-17-2011, 11:11 PM
Quite simply, I'm inconsistent at the range. Sometimes I'll have a good run of things and get decent groups and even with the errant shots I can tell what went wrong. Even on my best days though my groups at 7-yards are still too big (I don't measure but I'd say around 3") and at 25yards it's just a mess. I'm still new to shooting and obviously more trigger time is key but are the shooting classes and clinics all that useful? The only class I've taken was the beginners handgun safety class. I've gotten a lot of info from the interwebs but they don't provide constructive feedback.

If classes are the best route and you know of some good ones in the bay area then I'd appreciate your insight. Thanks!

wu_dot_com
06-17-2011, 11:35 PM
classes are useful, but not necessary for everyone. research and the ability to isolate your errors and correct the errors will help you improve your grouping.

CK_32
06-17-2011, 11:38 PM
when you shoot say the words... "Nu nu nu nu nu nu nu" "nu nu nu nu nu nu" should hit bull every time. :D

Bryansix
06-17-2011, 11:39 PM
I doubt anybody here will take this advice seriously but what I did was to set up an at home range for my airsoft handgun. Its semi-auto gas powered but fires the light plastic BBs. Then I went through the steps just like I was at the range with my 9mm and took time to focus on every single shot. Because the airsoft has no recoil you can see what you are doing when you squeeze the trigger. You can get this with snapcaps in your real gun too but the Airsoft has the added benefit of showing you where the shot landed. If you can't get every shot in the bullzeye at 7 yards with the airsoft then you will have a heck of a time at the range.

locosway
06-18-2011, 12:00 AM