PDA

View Full Version : What is your wolf 100 yard grouping?

Solidsnake87
12-16-2006, 6:50 PM
I'm a college student so when it comes to ammo I really enjoy more bang for my buck. I put wolf through all my AKs and ARs. I did, however, put a lot of money into my SPR with a 24" DPMS match bull barrel and was wondering if its performing as expected with wolf. I have it zeroed pretty well. Using wolf .223, I generally get 3 inch groupings at 100 yards. The shots tend to be anything from a perfect shot (rare) to being within 2 inches of dead center. Occasionally i'll get a bad round that lands 4 inches from center but the bad rounds are pretty obvious. I was wondering if this is normal for wolf users and if changing ammo will make a dramatic difference? I'm going to continue shooting wolf till I'm done with school but It would be nice to know that I can be better at hitting my intended targets by just an ammo change. What kind of results do you get with wolf .223? Can anybody provide pictures of .223 groupings shot from zeroed rifles?

Thanks all!

xenophobe
12-16-2006, 7:01 PM
I don't shoot wolf.

Last time I was at the range, I was shooting my S&W M&P-15T. Basically a government profile chrome lined 1/9 twist 16" barrel. With my 4x Elcan, I put 40 round of Black Hills 73gr Berger Factory Seconds into a 2" oval hole about 1" high at 100 yards. I was not shooting for accuracy, just for fun.

I would expect that your 24" match barrel should get 10 shot groups about the size of a nickel at 100y with a 10x scope, with decent match quality ammunition of course.

cornholio1
12-16-2006, 7:05 PM
I get around a 1.5" through a 16" barrel. 7.62x39AR. Big Jon used it and can hit about a 4" steel plate at 250 yards the first time with a cheapo scope.

M. Sage
12-16-2006, 7:11 PM
Heh, 3" groups are about what I get at 100 yards with my 91/30 with '50s surplus ammo.

Solidsnake87
12-16-2006, 7:15 PM