PDA

View Full Version : "complete" upper ? ?

thefinger
12-15-2006, 6:45 PM
I'm new to the modern rifle game (I'm a milsurp guy) and I'm planning on "building" an AR15. I thought I'd start by getting the full lower assembly and then building on top of it.

My question is about the "complete uppers" I see for sale online. If I buy a "complete lower" and a "complete upper" will I have everything I need to make a full rifle? If not, what are the missing pieces of the puzzle I would need to buy to complete my build?

PS: I am familiar with CA laws regarding the AR15 and AW's, so there is no need to explain any legal stuff to me.

Thanks.

Fjold
12-15-2006, 6:51 PM
The only things that you would need is the buttstock assembly and the magazine lock (to be CAlifornia legal)

You can also buy a bare receiver and then buy a rifle kit which will get you everything except the magazine lock kit.

Fate
12-15-2006, 6:52 PM
You cannot legally buy a "complete" OLL with pistol grip unless it has the mag in place and pinned. Most dealers don't do that. Otherwise, you need the pistol grip detached first and no collapsable stock. Again, most dealers don't do this.

But oh yeah...you know this stuff.

cornholio1
12-15-2006, 7:12 PM
Some dealers might install the maglock before they ship, but most won't. You could ask them to remove the pistol grip however. Your safe bet is to assemble the lower and slap on a complete upper.

thefinger
12-15-2006, 7:21 PM
alright guys.

Do most uppers come with a bolt goup and charging handle??

cornholio1
12-15-2006, 7:58 PM
alright guys.

Do most uppers come with a bolt goup and charging handle??

Yes.

1hotshooter
12-15-2006, 8:18 PM
Complete lower - means complete ... with the exception of Cali laws...

This means complete trigger assembly, complete buttstock assembly, whether it's A2 or collapsible, lower receiver and pistol grip

Complete Upper - means complete... bolt & carrier, and yes, charging handle, all upper assembly parts, gas tube, etc.