PDA

View Full Version : Bad dealers aside, is shooting in Ca doomed and why?

Ubergeek
12-15-2006, 11:36 AM
... the title of that post on dealers who charge too much in transfer fees has got me wondering.

I get the impression that the shooting sports have been in decline here (since I started shooting several decades ago - with fewer gun shops, and fewer sporting goods stores carrying firearms). To a limited extent, I blame legislation, but to a greater extent - the cultural shift in America.

What say all of you?

hoffmang
12-15-2006, 11:49 AM
I think the OLL craze has done a lot to re-invigorate shooting in CA. I've personally gotten 3 people into owning and shooting rifles who hadn't been before all of this.

One has become a nut (he hates moles) and frequents this board :D

-Gene

DB2
12-15-2006, 12:04 PM
Change of culture.

No so much anti- view of firearms, but a non believer point of view. Alot of people anymore don't believe guns are necessary, in a hunting,sporting or a defensive way. Therefore they don't teach there children about them or show them any interested about them. My Dad is a Vietnam Vet, But he never took me out shooting when I was young, and only taught me "don't touch guns in the house". Now he's always wanting to see what I have aquired. Unless one gains an interest in firearms and wants to keep it as a hobby, I almost feel they (firearms) are forgotten about.

And today in this age, how many people have time to pick up a new hobby?

Corky43
12-15-2006, 1:21 PM
I agree with that DB2. My father did the same with me, here they are, see them! Now, don't touch them unless you ask. Being around guns prevented me from falling into the ignorant trap that Non-gun owners fall into.

I personally have made it a point to introduce new friends and acquaintances to shooting as soon as they know I am a shooter. Taking them out to our range and having them plink at swingers with 22s goes a lot farther than trying to argue the merits of gun ownership.