PDA

View Full Version : Buying a gun while visiting home?

Bulleh
06-03-2011, 6:10 PM
Basically I read the wiki, conducted a few searches and reads some threads. I have a pretty good idea on the topic, but I don't know how it exactly applies to my specific situation.

I am a full time college student here in California, but I originally came from another state. I consider myself a CA resident as I live here ~11 months out of a year and visit "home" for about a month or less. When I moved to CA, I applied for residency through the application to vote, got a CA DL, surrendered (hole punched) my old home DL and have a permanent address here. I don't work or pay income taxes as I have a number of scholarships, grants and financial aid that covers tuition and living expenses (one of the scholarships is from my home state).

Basically, I still hold my home state's ID and my family still has a permanent residence there. I was wondering if it was legal for me to purchase an off-list pistol w/10 round mags during my visit home this summer and bring it back to CA. If it is legal, do I need to fill out the "new-residence" application and transfer the gun title to myself in CA?

markw
06-03-2011, 6:34 PM
Not legal. You're a resident here. However if you want off list, you can do an intra familial transfer of one from your mom/dad/grandparents, 10 round magazine limit.

CHS
06-03-2011, 7:46 PM
What you're talking about is, sadly, a violation of federal law.

Markw has it right though in that you can do an intrafamilial transfer (from your parent/grandparent or child/grandchild ONLY) of a non-roster firearm though. It will have to go through a CA FFL in order to be legal.

Alan Block
06-03-2011, 9:57 PM
needed to go thru an FFL.

Mssr. Eleganté
06-03-2011, 10:10 PM
I did not think an interfamily transfer needed to go thru an FFL.

I'm assuming you meant intrafamily and not interfamily.